How to Sew a Cosmetic Bag

20170305_160556

I’m always looking for a new project or craft to try. After spending a semester learning how to sew various projects (my favorite always involved hand stitching of some sort) I’ve started to look online for new patterns or ideas.

Last weekend, I came across a video tutorial on how to sew a cosmetic bag:

Of course, I had to watch the video a few times to understand the process. I recreated my bag following the instructions, but my bag has different dimensions than the one in the video.

I use a 7-inch zipper for my bag, so I used the zipper to measure how long the fabric had to be for the length. I kept the width the same since you create a seam to assemble the bag.

Pro Tip: Make sure to serge the fabric ends before starting the project. This keeps everything nice and neat and prevents the fabric ends from fraying or tearing.

Here are some pictures of the finished result (available on my Etsy):

I’d recommend this project to someone learning how to sew a zipper for the first time. Happy sewing!

Leave a Reply

